History & Mission

A small and committed group of Dothan citizens incorporated Southeast Alabama Community Theatre in 1974. The mission established at that time remains true to this day:


To enrich the cultural lives of Wiregrass residents through the presentation of high quality theatre, to provide creative opportunities to talented individuals to perform on stage and behind the scenes, and to introduce the theatrical experience to school-aged children.

Since its beginning, SEACT has brought volunteers together – actors, directors, carpenters, pianists, producers, photographers, lighting and sound technicians and seamstresses – who have breathed life into more than 100 memorable productions, holiday dinner theatre shows, and original children’s summer theatre camp productions.


SEACT has engaged an estimated 4,000 cast and crew members and entertained and educated an estimated 250,000 audience members. The success of SEACT’s main-stage season supports its youth outreach efforts. SEACT employs 1 person to administrate mailings and marketing activities, and guide the organization’s volunteers through each element of a production. A 15-member volunteer Board of Directors determines the financial and operating procedures of the organization from year to year.


SEACT’s first production, The Unsinkable Molly Brown, cost $200 in 1974. Grand musicals of today can cost $50,000 or more. Venue and security costs, royalties, and technical support expenses continue to rise even as our organization makes efforts to keep ticket prices reasonable and offer scholarships to students for youth theatre camps. Future goals of the organization include increasing efforts to challenge participants and audiences with both beloved and fresh theatrical experiences through its regular season.

SEACT is funded through Season Tickets, Sponsorships, and Donations.

Board of Directors

A Board of 15 Directors oversees the activities of Southeast Alabama Community Players D/B/A Southeast Alabama Community Theatre (SEACT). The purpose for which the 501c(3) Corporation is organized is to provide Dothan and the Wiregrass community the opportunity to participate in theatrical productions for public performance. Directors (of the Board) are elected by the SEACT Membership each year for a three-year term commencing at the beginning of each season, July 1.

Board of Directors


Gwin Neal King, President

Michael Clardy, Vice President

Peter Covert, Treasurer

Kendall Sirkis, Secretary

Judy Brown, Past President

Charles Buntin

John Coleman

Sylvia Crews

Patricia DeVane

Eddie Farnham

David Gayle

Anthony McCallister

J. Adam Riley

Robby Thomas

Jennifer Love Doherty, Executive Director

Brook Phillips, Youth Activity Coordinator